SEO Series: Add a Video


I just learned this SEO tip yesterday morning while I was preparing to teach “SEO for the timid” at my weekly Social Media Hands-on Lab for Job Seekers.  A couple of days ago, the Hubspot inbound marketing blog posted an article indicating that putting a video on your web page increases you ranking on Google.  Quoting respected industry analyst Forrester Research, Hubspot said, “you’re 53 times more likely to get on the first page of Google’s search results if you have video on your page.”  Hubspot’s blog continues on to give good advice on how to make a video.  Both the Forrester Blog and the Hubspot blog are well worth reading.  If I were you, I would click through to their blogs.  I can’t better what they said.  ;-)

I was going to add a video to this blog to test out the Forrester/Hubspot idea, but that would require a “video upgrade” which costs $60 a year…and that is a barrier for me in this current economy, so I will just have to trust Forrester on this one.  I did add two videos to my FaceBook account, but FB is already number three on a Google search of my name, so it is hard to verify any improvement. There is no way to add video to LinkedIn at this time…and what sort of video would you want to put there anyway?

Maybe you have some thoughts. Please feel free to share them if you do.  In the meantime, if you want to see some videos I did in my previous job, click on the YouTube icon in my signature.

James Snider
Global Business Development and Social Media Marketing
jsnider1394@gmail.com
817-905-1394
Anyone can give you social media.  I make sure it’s marketing.

Contact Me LinkedinWordpressBloggerTwitterFacebookBloggerYoutube

About jamessnider

James Snider is the Vice President of Business Development for Engstrom Trading, LLC. Engstrom imports products from Scandinavian countries and builds a market for them in the USA and Canada. http://TFXNonStickUSA.com View all posts by jamessnider

9 responses to “SEO Series: Add a Video

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 835 other followers

