I am rich! in spam…


I just received email notification from the Magistrate of the District of Johannesburg that I am an heir of Lady Odetta Holmes. Who knew!?!? That long-lost, distant, royal relative, that I never heard about, is contacting me via my job seeker email account! Is that luck or what? Between this and that 750,000 Great Britain Pounds I keep winning every single day….I think I am fixed for life.

The amount of spam I have been getting seems to be directly proportionate to my increased visibility. Every time I update CareerBuilder, I get, not only, plenty of offers for commission only insurances sales positions, but phone calls from companies who want to charge me thousands of dollars to help me find a job and an assortment of jobs with “established Fortune 500″ companies. The big tip is the fact that I have NEVER seen a legitimate request to schedule an interview which was accompanied by a long list of benefits (including first year salary expectations, the promise of rapid advancement, health insurance, 401(k), vacation benefits….you can not help exhibit a little Pavlovian response.)

If they are selling the job to you before you have even met them….you can be sure that it benefits them and it will not benefit you.

However, sometimes you are in a little bit of doubt. You have to give the scammers a little bit of credit. They are getting better at it. Here is a nice rule of thumb: Google “Company Name” and the word “scam” and then do it again with “Company Name” and the word “complaints.” That should give you plenty of information to steer clear of the bad guys.

One more thing. If no one told you before, you really should set up a separate email account for your job search. Not only does, “DaveLovesBrenda@aol.com” not look very professional, but you are probably going to want to trash your job hunter email account once it starts becoming a dumpster to collect all sorts of junk email….and after you get your new job.  Gmail is free and looks more “with it” than AOL or one of the old Baby Bell email accounts.

In the meantime, let me get back to the Magistrate from the District of Johannesburg. The next time you hear from me, I will be sitting on a pile of gold coins like Scrooge McDuck.

I’ll let you know if it feels OK to dive into Krugerrands.

.
James Snider
B2B Business Development
jsnider1394@gmail.com
817-905-1394
Anyone can give you social media.  I make sure it’s marketing.

Contact Me LinkedinWordpressBloggerTwitterFacebookBloggerYoutube

About jamessnider

James Snider is the Vice President of Business Development for Engstrom Trading, LLC. Engstrom imports products from Scandinavian countries and builds a market for them in the USA and Canada. http://TFXNonStickUSA.com View all posts by jamessnider

One response to “I am rich! in spam…

  • candres5792

    James —
    Like you, I am worth over $1 Billion in all the money I have been left by deceased corrupt officials in Nigeria, Iraq, Liberia, Libya, Tunesia, So. Africa, Brazil, etc. I am now very wealthy. I have not asked to have my claims sent to me yet, because I really think I should wait for the inheritance tax to come back so I could use 55% of it to help pay down the national debt. So as soon as that spineless Congress of ours raises taxes on us Billionaires, I intend to do my part to get this great land of ours out of the mess it is in. See you at the Swiss Bank gold coin pool!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 835 other followers

