Telemarketers


One of my favorite bloggers, Jeff Bullas, posted something a few months ago about how to torment a telemarketer with just one word. The image above comes from his blog. People were having a lot of fun with his post, but I have a different perspective when it comes to telemarketers.

I was a telemarketer for 9 months, many years ago. I was a software engineer by day but entered the dark side at night and called people during dinner with a product they did not want and would not take “no” for an answer. It was a terrible job but I really needed the money.

About twice a week, a person would just go off on me, screaming and cussing and telling me how vile I was for invading his or her privacy. I would let them have their say…I mean, after all, I did call them. If they wanted to read me the riot act, I did have it coming. Once they stopped for air, I would respond, “You know…I feel exactly the same way about telemarketers. I hate them, too. Sorry for calling.” Then I would go right to my next call.

The telemarketers who have any pride will quit within a week. They can not take the abuse. For those of us who have more at stake than losing our pride, we learn to deal with it. Fortunately, I was able to find better employment and left that rotten chapter in my life behind. Now it is just a good “war story.”

You, as a job seeker in this tough economic environment, are going to have to suck it up. You are going to have to get tough and stay positive. Those two things do not go together naturally, but you have to do it.

When it comes to using social media to build your digital footprint, you are going to occasionally goof up. That is going to make you feel like pulling back and playing it safe. You can not do that.

I post things with typos from time to time and take a little bit of ridicule. I laugh it off. I occasionally post things in the discussion section of LinkedIn groups only to have the moderator read me the riot act for posting the wrong sort of content. I apologize and move on. I post things that I hear from experts, only to have readers respond indignantly or dismissively, indicating that what I just said was wrong or stupid. I let it roll off my back.

This is something I’ve had to learn. It does not come naturally to me. But fortunately, I’ve had a few hard knocks in life and have learned to roll with the punches.  Please do yourself a favor and grow that thick skin.

James Snider
B2B Business Development
jsnider1394@gmail.com
817-905-1394
Anyone can give you social media.  I make sure it’s marketing.

Contact Me LinkedinWordpressBloggerTwitterFacebookBloggerYoutube

About jamessnider

James Snider is the Vice President of Business Development for Engstrom Trading, LLC. Engstrom imports products from Scandinavian countries and builds a market for them in the USA and Canada. http://TFXNonStickUSA.com View all posts by jamessnider

Leave a Reply

