Onward Thru The Fog


jimmy_stewart_in_its_a_wonderful_life

I am sure that we have all wished we could go back and do things differently. As for me, I am not sure how far back I would have to go before I could make things turn out the way I would like. Maybe my Freshman year of college would be enough. I would have remained in the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas (at Austin), which is where I started. I would have ignored the fervent advice of my father (a prominent Radiologist in Austin) who instructed me that I would hate being a salesman “groveling around, buying coffee and laughing at terrible jokes simply to make a sale” ….and I would have gone straight into sales as soon as I graduated with my BBA. I love “sales” and those terrible jokes are a lot funnier when they are attached to a commission.

However, more recently, I have seen “going back and doing it differently” with a more sinister view. Maybe it is because I have officially left “middle age” and moved into “old age” but I see “having a do over” with a mixed vantage point….like “It’s A Wonderful Life” written by Rod Serling of “Twilight Zone” fame. If you went back and did it over, what makes you think things would work out better? They may work out worse!

Would you wake up every day at exactly the same time? Would your words be exactly the same words as you spoke originally? Would you leave the house at exactly the same time? Would you walk down the street or drive at exactly the same speed as before? No, impossible! The “redo” would be different in ways you could never control.

Every one of us has had “close calls” where we almost received life changing injuries or perhaps death. In the “do over world” we may have very well died at 12 years old, or 18 or 30…. If you believe in a God who is in control of all things, who would protect you a second time, do you not believe that He has protected you the first time as well? Do you not believe that you stand today at a cross roads?

We will never receive a “do over” and that is a wonderful thing. Who would want to relive the miserable years of middle school, even if you could be 20% richer today from what you learned? You lived your life. Now it is time to get on with it, based on what you learned. Do the things you should have done and broadcast your new accomplishments via social media. Those who are looking for people with your experience on LinkedIn will be interested in what you are doing now to sharpen your skills. If there is dirt on you from the past, cover it up with new entries on Facebook and Twitter. Prospective employers are going to look for information on you on the Internet. Make the good information easy to find based on your posts to social media. They will never make it to page 18 of Google search results if they find information (that you controlled) on pages 1 – 17.

Good Luck and Godspeed!

 

About jamessnider

James Snider is the Vice President of Business Development for Engstrom Trading, LLC. Engstrom imports products from Scandinavian countries and builds a market for them in the USA and Canada. http://TFXNonStickUSA.com View all posts by jamessnider

Leave a Reply

